My mini guide to Carcassonne, France

Our last day in Carcassonne

The sunshine finally made a proper appearance over Carcassonne for our last day! Actually, it was a bit over-enthusiastic for my English/Irish genes and I got awful sunburn (#ownyourtone, kids), but it meant I got to wear the off-the-shoulder top and GAP denim culottes (similar) I’d been saving for this trip! When I first tried this outfit on, as I was packing my case in rainy old London, I was worried it was too flare-y – but actually I love it, maybe it just goes better with the sun :)

Carcassonne cemetery, FranceCemetiere de la Cite, Carcassonne, FranceCarcassonne cemetery, South of FranceCarcassonne cemeteryCarcassonne cemetery, FranceCemetiere Carcassonne

Despite it being a Monday, our last day seemed to be when Carcasonne’s crowds reached their peak. Coach-loads of tourists arrived for day trips so, as we were confident we’d explored every nook and cranny of the the fortified medieval town, we went slightly off-the-beaten-track and wandered around the Cemetière de la Cité followed by the little new town and then the countryside surrounding la Cité.

View over Carcassonne, FranceCarcassonne castle and city wallsCarcassonne castle and city wallsFortified town of Carcassonne, FranceCarcassonne, South of FranceThe medieval city of Carcassonne, FranceCroissants in Carcassonne, FranceOld Mercerie, Carcassonne, FranceExploring UNESCO World Heritage Site, Carcassonne, FranceTraditional French Cassoulet in CarcassonneUNESCO World Heritage Site, Carcassonne, France

For breakfast we pit-stopped on a wall to snack on the last of the croissants we’d picked up at the Place Carnot market, then washed them down with a couple of beers at a bar overlooking the castle. Then a couple of glasses of Crémant de Limoux at another bar. Before a three-course lunch at La Table d’Alais. Our last day was one of indulgence, but we walked pretty far so let’s agree that it’s ok.

Cité de Carcassonne, FranceTips for Carcassonne, FranceThings to see and do in Carcassonne, FranceThings to do in the Cité de Carcassonne

That’s it from me and Carcassonne! I hope I’ve given you a taste of what a great little place it is to visit, and worth much more time than a day trip. If you have any questions or are looking for more info, leave a comment or tweet me and I’ll see what I can do! :)

Further reading:

2 thoughts on “Our last day in Carcassonne”

Leave a comment:

