5 favourite books for spring

Nice books for your reading list: "The Day The Crayons Quit" by Drew Daywalt

What with a bout of pericoronitis and the usual mid-winter bugs, I’ve done quite a bit of reading already this year: these are the best five books recently ticked off my list. If you have any recommendations, do share! :)

1984 by George Orwell

I’ve been meaning to read this classic for a long time, but often find classics disappointing, you know? With that in mind I put this off for a while but I’m kicking myself now – it’s 100% unputdownable. Orwell’s vision of ‘Airstrip One’ (or, Great Britain) is terrifying.

The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt

Technically this is a children’s book but while an adult can flick through it in five minutes, the moral is still relevant to those of us whose age is now above single digits. Plus, Oliver Jeffers’ illustrations are perfectly whimsical. Loved this.

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

I don’t read many thrillers but they occasionally find their way into my pile on recommendation and I kept seeing this crop up on Goodreads. If you liked Gone Girl you’ll enjoy this.

Twelve Years a Slave by Solomon Northup

You’ve probably seen the film of this true story by/about Solomon Northup, a free man who was captured and sold into slavery in mid-19th century America. The movie is a faithful representation of this book (could you really make it up?), which is an important and astonishing read – even more so when you consider this all took place not that long ago.

Pretty Honest by Sali Hughes

I’ve long enjoyed Sali’s beauty advice in the Guardian so I had high hopes for her book and it still exceeded my expectations. I find tips-type books to be hit and miss (so many ‘pros’ do nothing other than state the bloody obvious) but Sali shares gem after useful gem.

Book reviews, including "The Day The Crayons Quit" by Drew Daywalt

 

3 thoughts on “5 favourite books for spring”

  1. 1984 is one my all-time faves after I read it at school! If you haven’t seen the film it’s equally bleak but good. Thanks for these suggestions, I’m allllways on the hunt for new reads xxx

    Like

Leave a comment:

