The Five-Year Plan (& why it doesn’t matter if you ‘fail’)

View from Top of the Rock, New York City

I wouldn’t call myself traditional but I’ve always known what I want from my life. At 16, I made my first five-year plan and, while I don’t have it anymore, I clearly remember writing that I wanted to travel and I was confident that by the time I was 21 I would live in New York City and be working in either the film or magazine industry. (HA!)

Since turning 30 I’ve inevitably been musing on these things. I might’ve seen some of the world now but I wasn’t remotely well-travelled until recently. I went on my first adult-free holidays at 16 and 17 and that was all the action my passport saw until I graduated. I was almost 25 before I first crossed the Atlantic. My job in digital didn’t even exist in 2001, when I sat at my desk writing that plan.

I failed, but I don’t see it that way.

Here’s why.

I decided not to have a gap year between college and university and I couldn’t afford holidays while I was studying (even day trips to visit my uni friends’ families seemed like the height of glamour). Going without, despite my wanderlust, means I appreciate travel so much more now.

After uni I stayed in Preston for a while before moving to London. That was something I’d never considered at all, but my boyfriend at that time was a Londoner, we both had shiny media degrees and moving to London seemed a) logical, b) realistic, and c) exciting! I love living in London. And if I hadn’t moved here, I wouldn’t have met my M.

I’d still like to be a New Yorker (or a Parisian?) at some point. I don’t necessarily see myself in London forever. Life is too short! I might not be a camera operator or a journalist, but I love the career path I’ve found myself on – and the fact it’s new means we’re making up the rules as we go along, which is super challenging (in a good way) and fun!

‘Failing’ at achieving my goals just means that other opportunities came along and I grabbed them instead.

You might also like:

Becky x

3 thoughts on “The Five-Year Plan (& why it doesn’t matter if you ‘fail’)”

  1. I’ve never made a life plan – whoops! Maybe this is where I’m going wrong hahaha. My job didn’t exist 10 years ago, I wish I studied PR/digital at uni but it just wasn’t the done thing. I also want to travel loads more!!

    Like

Leave a comment:

