30 before 30: the conclusion

Petite France, Strasbourg, France

Over the past few months I’ve been ticking some things off my bucket list. Here’s how I did:

  1. Go on a spontaneous day trip – we visited Hastings
  2. Master my Grandad’s Minolta 110 Zoom SLR camera
  3. Visit 3 places in the UK that I’ve never visited before – we went to Cambridge, Meltham & Hastings
  4. Tick at least another 3 sites of the UNESCO World Heritage List – we saw Strasbourg Grand Île, but that’s it :( UPDATE: In September we saw the historic centres of Naples and Rome, the ‘Costeria Amalfitana‘, the archaeological are of Pompei, the sassi di Matera & some trulli, in Martina Franca
  5. Continue to save every single month
  6. Learn how to knit
  7. Start eating more healthily (fruit & veg every day) – I’ve got a new homemade smoothie habit
  8. Read at least 5 classic books that I’ve always meant to read
  9. Start to re-learn French (& use it!) – success in Strasbourg!
  10. Learn how to bake a classic dessert really wellbuttercream vanilla cupcakes, tick
  11. Climb a mountain
  12. Make a roast dinner (at least mostly) by myself – I’ve actually done this twice!
  13. Decide what I want to do with my life & start working towards it – I started a new job in digital in May
  14. Buy a housedone, eek!
  15. Grow my nails (again…)
  16. Learn how to do some practical things around our home – tool kit (kind-of) mastered
  17. Lose these extra 5kgs that mysteriously appeared – in progress (3kgs down!)
  18. Set up a regular charity donation – monthly Cancer Research UK donation started
  19. Become a more sensible drinker-of-alcohol! – I’m better than I was…
  20. Create a painting with M then hang it in our home
  21. Visit my family more often
  22. Be a better friend (keep in contact more often, etc.)
  23. Attend a (peaceful) rally or protest to support something I believe in
  24. Plank daily, until I can hold for 60 seconds non-stop
  25. Meditate for at least 5 minutes every day
  26. Write a will (& make sure M does too)
  27. Stop lazing around in bed on weekday mornings
  28. Re-join the gym & become one of those people who loves exercise (I know…)
  29. Make something that I can wear
  30. Throw an awesome 30th birthday party!

These goals were supposed to be fun so I’m not at all disappointed that I ‘only’ ticked off 17 items. The things I did achieve are awesome! I’ve seen previously-unfamiliar parts of the UK, explored more of France, improved my cooking skills & I’m eating better (which both obviously tie-in with losing weight). I’m going to work on ticking-off the rest but I’m in no rush. Do you have a bucket list?

:: bloglovin | instagram | pinterest | twitter ::

2 thoughts on “30 before 30: the conclusion”

  1. Congrats on what you did, you can add them to a 40 before 40 list. If you have fun and you are doing new things I don’t think it matters if it’s a year later :) Congrats on the house too x

    Like

Leave a comment:

