Scrapbooking tips

Scrapbooking sessions

We’re all digital-lovers these days, myself included, but it does sadden me slightly. I love film photography.

There’s an off-putting perception that taking photos the old-fashioned way is pricey but film can be cheap—my family/fella often spot 35mm film in £1 shops and are trained to pounce. For processing I often use Truprint‘s mail-order service, starting at £5 a roll (having some patience can halve the processing costs you’ll find in your local shop!).

Though we occasionally all have photographs printed I’d guess that (like myself) you have boxes full of snaps, likely long-neglected and hidden under the bed. Now the nights are dark and damp it’s the perfect time to indulge in some classic cutting and sticking!

Scrapbooking layouts

I’ve been scrapbooking since my art GCSE days, when gathering inspiration was often my favourite part of a project (I’m talking about you, soil painting). Last summer I got back into it when I made a little book compiling photos, tickets, business cards, etc. after our Italy trip.

Recently, I like a more simple style—I’m making a book of my favourite film camera snaps and the ‘tidy’ style seems to nicely exaggerate the faded saturation and graininess of the photos.

Scrapbooking is such a fun way to pass an evening: it requires minimal attention (e.g. can be done while watching Homeland), costs next to nothing and is impossible to get ‘wrong’.

So, what do you need?

Supplies

  • Scrapbooks (both of mine above are from Paperchase)
  • Glue dots
  • Things to stick! Photos, receipts, magazine tear-outs, drawings, etc.

Optional extras

Have you tried scrapbooking? Take a look at A Beautiful MessTolly Dolly Posh or my other scrapbooking posts for more ideas!

Scrapbooking ideas

10 thoughts on “Scrapbooking sessions”

  1. You hit the nail on the head with “even though we occasionally all have snaps printed out, i’d guess that (like myself) you have a shoebox full of these long-neglected shots at the bottom of your wardrobe”! I love having physical photos to look through and need to start scrapbooking or just putting them in albums, it’s so nice!

    Like

  2. I love that you do this! I wish I printed more photos out but I do scrapbook my instax films which I save for fun/special occasions. I need to make more effort to print out photos I’ve taken with my camera though. Definitely inspired.

    Like

  3. Me too! I hate how everything is in the cloud! I’m still old school like you are, I love taking photos on a disposable camera. The best part? Not having to worry too much about how I look and not having to retake the same pose over and over again! Haha. I’m definitely going to put together a scrapbook of all my prints! Xx

    Shaqinah // Shoes & Roses

    Like

Leave a comment:

