Kotor city walls, Montenegro

Climbing Kotor’s city walls in Montenegro

I’m not the girliest of girls but I have the classic, stereotypical trait: I love to shop. Seeing as my fella has spent the past year determined to get me into hiking I decided to indulge him, ignoring the fact it meant exercise and focusing on the fact it meant new footwear. I’m actually quite a walker but something about knowing in advance that you’re going to walk for X loooong kilometres puts me right off hiking (i.e. my inner sloth says NO).

Surprisingly, I’m into my new Karrimor walking shoes. They got me comfortably to the top of Kotor’s city walls, though being of English/Irish heritage I do not cope well in the heat (and oh that heat…). I cannot explain how warm it was the day we did this walk and it’s a steep old 1.2km climb of around 1400 steps to the top! Take plenty of water, folks.

I confess I chickened out of the final stage, which involved crossing the world’s flimsiest, rustiest bridge to a little fort, but I made it to the top and oh my – that view! More to come from beautiful Kotor

Climbing Kotor city walls, MontenegroKotor city walls, MontenegroClimbing Kotor city walls, MontenegroBay of Kotor from the city walls, MontenegroKotor city walls, MontenegroClimbing Kotor city walls, MontenegroKotor city walls, MontenegroView from the top of Kotor city walls, Montenegro

10 thoughts on “Climbing Kotor’s city walls in Montenegro”

  1. Wowza. These snaps! Uggggh, I never want to grow up, I just want to travel forever. I’m such a dork but I love new walking boots haha. My latest faves are from Brasher!

    Like

Leave a comment:

